Almost – Black Eyes & Beginnings: Why Fresh Starts don’t have to be Perfect, Diary #4

What a nice milestone new year’s was to try something new – start fresh, and having a crappy morning isn’t the first thing on my bucket list. But, why must we wait for milestones to improve ourselves? Isn’t that like procrastinating change? A tangle of thoughts unravel themselves…

Hello my lovely readers 😊 ! How are you all?

korra-3

Well, at the start of the year, on the 3rd of January to be precise, I was blessed with an – almost – black eye. Why the almost part? Because my eye did swell up quite a bit, but thankfully, my destiny did not try one of its smokey-eye makeup hacks on me. So, I survived from getting a big ol’ black eye, but my eye still hurts quite a bit. First, there were constant tears streaming out of my right eye, but instead of worrying (strike out) annoying you with my maladies, let’s hop right into the post.

If there was one thing I have learnt from this week, it is that beginnings do not have to be perfect. I always thought that to have the ideal life or experience, flawless beginnings are essential – the main catalyst behind what’s so popularly known as ‘starting trouble’. This notion makes us think twice (strike) a 100 times before we start something new – thus tampering with our personality itself.

Before new years, I planned about a gazillion things for the next year: to concentrate on my studies, sports etc. and be that perfect person. But 2017 kicked in, and I slept in, hadn’t had even one square meal on the 1st – not to mention the lethargy that followed on the 3rd and my dear eye *sigh*.

The experience of a ‘messed’ start actually upsets many; the idea of having to start a ‘new chapter’ with bad breath and messy hair – quite depressing isn’t it?

It upset me too.

What a nice milestone new year’s was to try something new – start fresh, and having a crappy morning isn’t the first thing on my bucket list.

This got me to thinking, why must we wait for milestones to improve ourselves? Isn’t that like procrastinating change? Wouldn’t it be more suggestible to think of the very next day, hour or minute, as a new chance, a fresh chapter?

It’s useless to wait for change to come knocking on our door, it is our responsibility to invite it. Every second, we decide who we are, what we do, and how we think. Our destiny lies in our hands.

So dear friends,

Do not get upset with an imperfect start, beginnings are not like comets. They present themselves every nanosecond of our lives.

Cheers to fresh chapters and medicine (for my eye)!

❤️ Vinny

korra-4  img_0527

Leave a Reply

